India bring in Bumrah and Pant and bowl in eight overs-a-side game


Toss India chose to bowl Australia

India gained a significant advantage when they won the toss and chose to hunt for a heavily discounted T20 international in Nagpur. That feeling is reinforced by the return of Jasprit Bumrah, who will play his first cricket match in over two months.
Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has recently suffered a slight drop in form, fell victim to the game being reduced to just eight overs per side. Rain-shortened matches often skewed in favor of the more striking side and so India bolstered theirs with Rishabh Pant.
Australia went the other way, leaving batter Josh Inglis for bowler Sean Abbott. They lead the three-game series 1-0.
Nathan Ellis, who showed great composure in high scoring conditions earlier this week, also slipped from the team and was replaced by Daniel Sams, who provides a left arm attack angle.

India’s Umesh Yadav, who broke a three-year drought between T20Is on Tuesday, has also been pushed to the bench.

The overnight rain in Nagpur left the outfield under water and although the weather was completely clear on the day of the match, the game had to be postponed for two and a half hours while the ground staff tried to get things done.

The biggest concern for umpires Nitin Menon and KN Ananthapadmanabhan was a wide-center area, which collapsed under the foot, creating the potential for injury. Even when the umpires finally made the decision to allow play to continue at 8:50pm IST, they did so saying “although conditions aren’t perfect, they are safe to play.”

Under the revised Rules, no bowler may bowl more than two overs, regardless of the length of the power play in each inning.

Australia: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Cameron Green, 3 Steven Smith, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Tim David, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 Pat Cummins, 8 Daniel Sams, 9 Sean Abbott, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Dinesh Karthik, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Harshal Patel, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal