Ireland bowl; Miller returns for South Africa


Toss Ireland chose to bowl South Africa

Andy Balbirnie has chosen to chase Ireland to even the series against South Africa. Some may call it a brave move after South Africa scored their highest total against Ireland two days ago at the same venue, but Ireland fell just 21 runs short and will look to prove themselves after narrow defeats to India and New Zealand earlier in the summer. that she can beat a supposedly bigger team. George Dockrell, for example, would find the win doubly memorable as he plays his 100th T20I.
South Africa, meanwhile, welcomed replacement captain David Miller, who missed the series opener with lower back spasms. Miller replaced Tristan Stubbs, whose big hit landed him a deal of a hundred and who has seemingly shown the selectors enough for the T20 World Cup.

As this game was played on the same site, South Africa made no other changes to its winning combination on Wednesday. Wayne Parnell and Dwaine Pretorius both kept their spots ahead of Andile Phehluwayo. Marco Jansen and Anrich Nortje also remain on the sidelines. Keshav Maharaj, who led the first match, and Tabraiz Shamsi form the specialist spin component with Aiden Markram’s offbreaks as the sixth bowling option. There was no room for Marco Jansen or Anrich Nortje. Ireland has remained unchanged from the XI that lost to South Africa on Wednesday.

This is South Africa’s last T20I before they have to finalize their World Cup squad, which will head to India in September for a three-game run. Ireland will host Afghanistan for a five-game run later this month, which will help them fine-tune their combinations.

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Andy Balbirnie (capt), 3 Lorcan Tucker, (capt) 4 Harry Tector, 5 George Dockrell, 6 Curtis Campher, 7 Gareth Delany, 8 Andrew McBrine, 9 Mark Adair, 10 Barry McCarthy, 11 Josh Little

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Rassie van der Dussen 4 Aiden Markram 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 David Miller (capt), 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Dwaine Pretorius, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi